Valentine, A True Love Story

Posted on

I’m a die hard romantic. I’m in love with love.  I love that it’s happy, sad, painful, pleasant, forgiving, humble, noble, giving, receiving, sensitive, strong, undying, mysterious, sensual, complex, and so much more.  Ever since I was a child I loved the traditional romantic Mexican/Latino singer icons like Pedro Infante, Sara Montiel, El Puma, Rocio Durcal, etc and I’d lock myself in my room and listen to them for hours. I would write poems and love letters to nobody (haha).

So no guessing that I love Valentine’s Day, though I don’t recall the history of why we celebrate it nor do I recall what I learned in Catholic elementary school?

I got curious, so I did some research, and I found this article to be the simplest summary  (because apparently there are several stories- which makes me love the holiday even more!)   All versions are indeed in some way, a form of love.  History of Valentine

According to one legend, an imprisoned Valentine actually sent the first “valentine” greeting himself after he fell in love with a young girl–possibly his jailor’s daughter–who visited him during his confinement. Before his death, it is alleged that he wrote her a letter signed “From your Valentine,” an expression that is still in use today.

Embrace February and embrace love.  Choose to give and receive love for your neighbor, your child, your parent, your friend, your teacher, your partner, your boss, your co-worker, choose to love.  And with your romantic partner, spice it up, take things up a notch, tell him/her how you feel about them, make it all about them.

Still struggling with plans? El Burrito Mercado is open for dinner and we are offering choice of a complimentary tequila or sparkling wine with your dinner, and an option for a sexy, aphrodisiac inspired dessert, plus live music by the talented duet Pedro y Donna. Reservations through opentable or call 651-227-2192

 

 

Leave a Reply

